YYC Summer Events

 

Calgary-Skyline-Image

mC:t    2015.06.30    #mct

 

 

It’s summer.  Let’s go outside!

 

July and August are the nicest months weather-wise in Calgary, and the long, warm, sunshine filled days will be over before we know it.  In order to maximize your fun in the sun and enjoyment of the city, I’ve compiled a list of all the outdoor events happening in Calgary during the next two months.

 

HERE’S THE BREAKDOWN:

 

Every number on the calendar below is neighbored by a list of all the outdoor events happening in Calgary that day.

 

Each event has been categorized into one of the following groups:

Categories-02

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The colour corresponding to each event has been depicted on each calendar number to give you an idea of the ‘pulse’ of the city on that particular day.

 

For more information on each event, scroll down to find a link to its website.  They’re listed alphabetically.

 

Did I miss anything?  If you know of any outdoor events that aren’t listed below, leave a comment.  I’ll make sure and update the list as they come in.

 

Have fun!

 

Summer Festivals-01

 

5 Peaks Central Alberta Race 3 http://www.runguides.com/calgary/runs

7th Annual multiple Miles for Myeloma http://www.runguides.com/calgary/runs

Afrikadey! http://afrikadey.com/

Calgary Arab Festival http://www.calgaryarabfest.com/

Calgary Dragon Boat Race & Festival http://www.chinatowncalgary.com/dragonboat/

Calgary Folk Music Festival http://www.calgaryfolkfest.com/

Calgary International Blues Festival http://www.calgarybluesfest.com/

Calgary Reggae Festival http://www.reggaefest.ca/

Calgary Stampede http://www.calgarystampede.com/stampede

Calgary Turkish Festival http://calgaryturkishfestival.com/

Calgary Women’s Run http://www.runguides.com/calgary/runs

Canada Dayyc http://www.calgary.ca/CSPS/Recreation/Pages/Events/Canada-day.aspx

Carifest 2015 http://www.carifestcalgary.com/

Chasing Summer Festival http://www.chasingsummerfestival.com/

Chinatown Street Festival http://calgarychinesemerchants.org/festival-information/

Country Kickback https://www.heritagepark.ca/plan-your-visit/event-calendar/country-kickback.html

Creekfest 2015 http://friendsoffishcreek.org/event/creekfest/

Cyclepalooza http://cyclepalooza.ca/

Disc Dogs Skyhounds Discdogathon Competition http://skyhoundz.com/

Dr. For Mom 5K Walk and Run http://www.runguides.com/calgary/runs

Expo Latino Festival http://www.expolatino.com/

EV Street Fair http://www.calgarycanadaday.ca/wp-content/uploads/2014/02/EVNA-Street-Fair.pdf

Fiestaval Latin Festival http://fiestaval.ca/calgary/

Franco Festival Calgary http://www.francofestcalgary.com/

Globalfest http://www.globalfest.ca/

Heritage Days https://www.heritagepark.ca/plan-your-visit/event-calendar/heritage-day.html

Inglewood Night Market http://www.calgary-inglewood.com/events

Inglewood Sunfest http://www.inglewoodsunfest.ca/

Kensington Beach in the City http://www.visitkensington.com/

Livingston Place Farmers Market http://www.visitcalgary.com/things-to-do/events/livingston-place-farmers-market

Marda Gras http://www.mardagras.ca/

MEC Calgary Rave Five http://www.runguides.com/calgary/runs

Opera in the Village http://www.calgaryopera.com/festival

Oxford Stomp http://oxfordstomp.com/

Pet-A-Palooza http://www.petapaloozawest.com/calgary/#calgary-where-when

Race for Pace http://www.runguides.com/calgary/runs

Rock the Walk V http://www.runguides.com/calgary/runs

Run Through the Meadows http://www.runguides.com/calgary/runs

Sears Great Canadian Run http://www.runguides.com/calgary/runs

Shakespeare by the Bow https://www.theatrecalgary.com/plays/shakesbow/more_info/

Spruce Meadows Heroes Behind the Heroes Run http://www.runguides.com/calgary/runs

Spruce Meadows North American https://www.sprucemeadows.com/tournaments/view_tournament.jsp?id=27

Spruce Meadows Pan American https://www.sprucemeadows.com/tournaments/view_tournament.jsp?id=41

St. John Ambulance Run & Walk for Life http://www.runguides.com/calgary/runs

Stampede Road Race http://www.runguides.com/calgary/runs

Stampede Roundup https://stampederoundup.frontgatetickets.com/

Taste of Calgary http://www.tasteofcalgary.com/

Urban Cycling Skills Course http://bikecalgary.org/skills

Western Rodeo https://www.heritagepark.ca/plan-your-visit/event-calendar/western-rodeo.html

 

WP

 

Next: Last Best Brewery & Distillery
Previous: Big Green Waste

REFERENCES

[1] “Calgary Festivals & Events”. Visit Calgary. Accessed June 20, 2015. http://www.visitcalgary.com/things-to-do/festivals?page=3.
[2] Olafson, Karin. “Around the World in Festivals”. Avenue. Accessed June 20, 2015. http://www.avenuecalgary.com/Things-to-Do/Cultural-Festivals-Summer-Calgary/.
[3] “Summer Festival Guide”. Calgary Culture.  Accessed June 19, 2015. http://calgaryculture.com/festivals.

* Feature image retrieved and edited from Tourism Calgary. http://www.visitcalgary.com/travel-media/toolkit/promotional-materials/image-gallery

makeCalgary:talk provokes conversation among Calgarians about the design of our city. Catch up with us on Twitter (@makecalgarytalk), Instagram (makecalgarytalk), or Facebook.